top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureKAKI KOREAAA

IT'S FUN!! AND ALSO BITTER...

BY FITRI JAMARI

 

“MY WASTED TIME IN LANGKAWI”


“Masa muda, Jangan pernah sia-siakan, Simpankan sebagai memori, Jadikan polaroid. Sungguh indah, Lupakan segala resah, Bersama sahabat gembira, Jadikan satu polaroid.”


Beautiful rhythm, perfect lyrics are perfect for those who like to cheer on doing something. My favorite song sung by Sakura Band. The song I will hear when I feel excited and happy. Oh gosh cliche!.


The backpack I took from my wardrobe. I folded all the clothes to carry. I put my bath items. I put a little snack, maybe for an emergency when I'm hungry. I put my ehemm..…my personal stuff, you know what I means.


"Do not forget to bring sport shoes, there will be a little hiking to Dayang Bunting lake later," Mila slumped in the bustle of me putting the last item into my backpack.

I pull up the sports shoes I keep under the bed. Why under the bed? I do not want to be dusty as well as the shoes are gifts from someone special, appreciate!.


When all was put into a backpack, I looked back tentatively given by our project director, Hana. Oh, almost forgot, this trip involves two classes, Online journalism and Photojournalism run by my beloved lecturer, Sir Khalil. Our main goal is not for a relaxing vacation, but rather for making assignments.


Trett...tett…tett. Speak of the devils, message from Hana received in group Whatsapps. I read the message in a loud tone so Mila could hear it once.


"Hey you guys, tomorrow night I want to make some briefing for our trip to Langkawi later on. Do not forget yaa. Arghh I'm so excited guys.” I smiled reading the message.

Hana is really excited about this. As always, Hana is indeed a cheerful person and I hope that this trip between the one that is not obtained is forgotten throughout my life. I hope so. Although I am not a traveler, but if it involves those I love most, my best friend, I will be very excited.


The day I was very much looking forward to. My backpacks on the shoulder, my shoes were tied up, and I went straight to the Unisel cafe. As promised, everyone has gathered at the cafe as early as 8:30 pm as promised.


Hana at that time seemed restless. Uneasy. Uncomfortable. She often take a look at he the watch in his right hand. I do not know what she worried about.


"The bus driver who will take us to Langkawi tonight, as usual, late. Melayu meyh." Whisper Sharil to me in a annoying tone. I just nod without speak anything.


Suddenly Hana rose from his seat. She shouted,


"You guys, let's move to the bus, the driver is up, hurry hurry.” All rushes get up and head to the bus.

When all goes up, the bus moves out of Unisel right at 9:30 pm. What Hana told in her briefing yesterday, this journey took about 10 hours from Bestari Jaya, Kuala Selangor to Langkawi, Kedah. I'm like, shit! we will die in the bus later.

But it's even more annoying that when our bus driver leaves the song and tells us to have a karaoke. We are just following it, just want to take care of his feelings of boredom while driving on a long journey.


At 6:05 am, we're not aware, we already arrived at Masjid Al Hussain, Kuala Perlis to face our face, brush our teeth and perform the dawn prayers there. After completion, we went to the Kuala Perlis jetty which was just a few yards away with the mosque.

Hana ran to the ticket counter, and returned to us with a condition that was not quite breathing before giving us a ticket. We moved up the ferry. The time was really crowded because we went on school holidays, so it's no wonder lah.


The situation in the ferry was very comfortable. The situation in the ferry was very comfortable. I close my eyes. I comfort my seat. The cold of air conditioner makes me feel sleepy. I'm fall asleep.


"Fit, we've arrived." Ehsan, who sat next to me at that time woke me up from my sleep.

I opened my eyes slowly. Oh, we've arrived at the Langkawi jetty. I stretch a little bit of my body.With a still subconscious state, I queued for a turn to get off the ferry. I stiffened up lifting my backpack which only god knows how heavy it is. Ehsan invited me to carry my backpack. I refuse. However, he kept picking up my bag and jerking it aside. I was touched. Well, every one was tired, but he just did not care about it.


"Why is our schedule different from what we are supposed to set? This is the first day we should have no activities, why suddenly change this schedule, you know we're all tired!,"

Mila tone of voice was a bit high on Hana when she knew that tentatively given Hana last time was not the same as now. I immediately came to calm Mila.


"Mila, enough, we'll just put it in. And then, the plan is made by Sir Khalil, so we're just following the flow okay?, After all, all of us already agreed with this tentative change, but these exploraces may be interesting as we make it in the area of Sky Cab, Sky Bridge and all that is interesting in Langkawi, while doing activities, as we enjoy it.

I try to calm him down. Hana lowered her head, maybe feeling guilty because she did not tell this thing from the beginning. I felt that this was just the beginning of the problem. I'm worry.


Their tiredness is on their face. With the heat of the sun, with time, sweating, hunger, thirst, anger, all the feeling of mixing at that moment. This exploraces take almost 4 hours. Imagine our situation on that time!. Sir Khalil just shakes his head when he sees our struggle effort to win in this game. He smiled.


In the last destination. Unexpected events happen. I, Mila and Aqil are stuck in Sky Bridge. Because we were so chatting that we did not realize that almost all of us had arrived at the bus. With congestion at the time, it made us feel tense. Heat. Hungry. Angry because there are among the tourists who want to cut the line. Want to argue but not have energy. Leave them alone. It's more important than getting rid of energy to quarrel.


"It seems like this trip is not organized like the last trip, it's all messed up," I'm saying. Aqil and Mila agree with me.

Last trip we went to Malacca. Everything went very smoothly. Transport, food, hotel. Everything is perfect. Perhaps the last trip was controlled by an experienced person. Maybe.


After our turn to get off the Sky Cab, we rushed straight to the bus. As I rushed, I could se

e the stalls selling souvenirs.


I'm scared!!!

Unfortunately we're in a hurry. All are waiting in the bus. Maybe there are other souvenir shops. I said to satisfy my heart.


Just at the hotel, we are reminded to rest after a long day. But as I had expected. New issues arise.


"Should the room be enough for everyone, why could it be like this?". Hana confused. Rooms should be enough for us, 28 people, but all of them are out of plan.

After have the discussing. Actually, it's more about a bit quarrel. Haha. All agreed to collect a RM7.00 per person to book another hotel room for those who do not have a room. Now all have a room. Everyone happy. Yaa right.


The next day, the second day. We wake up with the painful body as yesterday was a tiring day. Our activity for today is Island Hopping. We will go to 3 islands as stated in tentative. The first island, the island is very beautiful and clean, Beras Basah island.


We were given just 15 minutes to swim there. It's a short time but we enjoy it!.


The second island, the Singa Besar island. There we can see the birds that symbolize the splendor of the island of Langkawi, which is a white eagle  that are flying and looking for food.


The last island is Dayang Bunting Island. This Dayang Bunting history is very interesting to learn. On our way to Dayang Bunting Lake, our boat driver showed us a hill that resembled a pregnant woman, where Dayang Bunting's legend was created.


Dayang Bunting Lake

The night appears. Our last night is here. Students taking the course Photojournalism have gathered in front of the hotel to get ready for the activity of taking photos of their assignment. Me and those who are take the course of Online Journalism already collected a enough materials for their blogs this afternoon.

We are just relaxing, walking in the night market and also Uptown in Kuah Town. Buy some souvenirs for family and friends.


After completing all the assignments, they accompany us to eat at Uptown Pekan Kuah. Our laugh accompanied the cold night at that time. I smiled at the look of my friends. I'm happy and sad at the same time. Could this be the last time we'll laugh together? Could this be our last time together? And could these moments be recurring ?. I'm bowed down.


Last day. That morning, we went to a shop selling the famous chocolates in Langkawi at a fair price. Haji Ismail Group. Daim, Toblerone, Beryl's….Hmmmm yummy.… All chocolates make it difficult for us to choose which one to take home.


After buying chocolate, we breakfast. Our ferry ticket is 12:30 pm. So we still have plenty of time. When we arrive at the ferry terminal, some of us take pictures at the monument that symbolizes the Langkawi Island which is located near the terminal. The heat of the sunlight made me not to have them pictured there.


It's time for us all to leave the island of Langkawi. Leave our memories there. Leave everything fun there. I looked out the ferry window. The sound of the waves made me think of something. Memories will continue to be remembered if we remember them.




Beautiful sunset views at Pantai Cenang. So stunning.

Joy and sadness mixed in the heart. Some of the batches from the first semester until the seventh semester will end their studies later. Sharil, Iqram, Ashraff and Ehsan, My "Abang" from our start at Unisel Shah Alam campus until we moved to Unisel Bestari Jaya campus.


So, this trip is our last trip together. Ask me not to feel sad, no I’m not gonna cry, no. Sobbb…Sobbb. They are thick and thin friends. They always giving advice.


"Take care, keep in touch with other friends, do not ignore your studies, remember your parents advice and do not forget us Fit, I love you."

Four of them doing love and  virtual hugging symbol .


And yaa, this experience will never be forgotten.


The memories will remain the same.


Forever.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page